قصتنا

تبدأ قصتنا بسؤال: ماذا حدث لصناعة التعدين في عمان؟

تم استغلال النحاس على نطاق واسع في عمان لما يقرب من 4000 عام. في عام 1981 ، تأسست شركة عمان للتعدين (OMCO) كشركة تعدين مملوكة للدولة ، ومقرها في صحار بهدف تطوير الموارد وإنتاج مختلف المعادن والركام بما في ذلك النحاس والذهب والفضة والكروميت والحجر الجيري والسيليكا.

من عام 1983 إلى 1994 ، قامت OMCO بمعالجة خام النحاس من مناجمها الخاصة ، حيث أنتجت 19200000 طن من الخام و 143000 طن من النحاس الكاثود والذهب كمنتج ثانوي. تم استخراج الذهب بنجاح في الرقة والبشارة بين عامي 1994 و 2009.

لكن عمليات التعدين تركت مناطق كبيرة ملوثة خلفها ، مما تسبب في ضرر للإنسان والحيوان والبيئة. أدت دراسة تقييم الأثر البيئي التي أجرتها OMCO في عام 2013 والتصديق على اتفاقية باريس من عام 2016 ومتطلباتها البيئية الصارمة أخيرًا إلى تعليق عمليات إنتاج النحاس في عمان في عام 2016 ، بعد أن تم بالفعل تعليق تعدين الذهب في عام 2009.

ما رأيناه كان بقايا منطقة كبيرة ، مما دفعنا إلى طرح سؤال إضافي: ما الذي يمكننا فعله لمساعدة صناعة التعدين على العودة ، وكيف يمكننا القيام بذلك؟ بعد زيارة المواقع ، أصبحت الإجابة واضحة: كان علينا تنظيف المواقع الملوثة ، وتمويلها عن طريق تحويل النفايات إلى قيمة ، وإيجاد تقنيات جديدة صديقة للبيئة ، ليس فقط لمعالجة نفايات التعدين ولكن أيضًا للتعدين التقليدي.

أدركت OMCO في تلك المرحلة أن هناك حاجة إلى نهج جديد لمواصلة تطوير التعدين كصناعة رئيسية لسلطنة عمان وأسست GTMS كوسيلة ذات غرض خاص لمعالجة مناطق التعدين الملوثة لجعل تعدين النحاس والذهب مقبولًا على نطاق واسع مرة أخرى في السلطنة.

Our Story

Our story begins with a question: What happened to the mining industry in Oman? 

Copper was massively exploited in Oman for nearly 4,000 years. In 1981, Oman Mining Company LLC (OMCO) was established as a state-owned mining operator, based in Sohar with the aim to develop resources and produce various minerals and aggregate including copper, gold, silver, chromite, limestone, and silica. 

From 1983 to 1994, OMCO processed copper ore from its own mines producing 19 200 000 tons of ore and 143 000 tons of copper cathode and gold as a by-product. Gold was also successfully mined in Rakka and Bishara between 1994 and 2009.

However the mining operations left large contaminated areas behind, causing harm to humans, animals and the environment. The environmental impact assessment study carried out by OMCO in 2013 and the Paris Agreement ratification from 2016 and its stringent environmental requirements finally led to the suspension of copper production operations in Oman in 2016, after gold mining had already been suspended in 2009. 

What we saw were the remnants of a great area, which prompted us to ask a further question: What can we do to help the mining industry to return, and how can we do that? After visiting the sites the answer became clear: we had to clean up contaminated sites, financing it by turning the residuals into value, and find new environmentally friendly technologies not only for mining residuals remediation and surface mining, but also for conventional mining. 

OMCO recognized at that point that a new approach was required to further develop mining as a key industry for Oman and founded GTMS as the special purpose vehicle to to make copper and gold mining widely acceptable again in the Sultanate and transform the future of the industry.